This website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Guyana

Guyana is made up of 10 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Guyana. Information on all primary administrative regions in Guyana.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Guyana alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Guyana

There are 10 regions in Guyana in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Guyana
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Demerara-Mahaica Demerara-Mahaica Region1.313,429Georgetown Georgetown235,017
East Berbice-Corentyne East Berbice-Corentyne Region2.109,431New Amsterdam New Amsterdam35,039
Essequibo Islands-West Demerara Essequibo Islands-West Demerara Region3.107,416Vreed-en-Hoop Vreed-en-Hoop3,073
Mahaica-Berbice Mahaica-Berbice Region4.52,400Fort Wellington Fort Wellington-
Pomeroon-Supenaam Pomeroon-Supenaam Region5.46,810Anna Regina Anna Regina12,448
Upper Demerara-Berbice Upper Demerara-Berbice Region6.44,878Linden Linden44,690
Barima-Waini Barima-Waini Region7.26,941Mabaruma Mabaruma717
Cuyuni-Mazaruni Cuyuni-Mazaruni Region8.20,280Bartica Bartica11,157
Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo Region9.17,706Lethem Lethem716
Potaro-Siparuni Potaro-Siparuni Region10.6,671Mahdia Mahdia4,200